Liberal Party

Political party

The South Australian Liberal Party was born from three political parties at the beginning of the twentieth century. In 1909 the rural (pastoralist) Farmers and Producers Union, the rural (small wheat farmer) Liberal and Democratic Union, and the Australian National League, merged to form the Liberal Union. From this developed the Liberal Federation, in 1932 the Liberal and Country League and in 1976 the South Australian Division of the Liberal Party.